Abruzzo - "the Green Heart" of Europe

Abruzzo is a unique region for its geographical characteristics: it looks out over the Adriatic Coast and at the same time, at only 60km from its beaches, the highest peaks of the Apennine Mountains (Gran Sasso d'Italia and Maiella Mountains) can admired It is also known as "the green heart" of Europe for the extensive presence of parks, reserves and protected areas. In fact, the region hosts three National Parks, a Regional Park and thirty-eight regional and state oases and reserves. Protected areas encompass a total of 30% of the entire regional territory. Abruzzo is made up of four provinces - Chieti, Pescara, Teramo and L'Aquila - the latter being also the region's capital.


The Town of Teramo

Located in the northern part of Abruzzo, Teramo lies in an area of green hills just under the Gran Sasso Mountain called the Tordino Valley - a stretch of land rich with vineyards and olive orchards, that extends up to the Adriatic Coast. The historical part of the town is surrounded by two bodies of water - the Tordino and Vezzola Rivers.
Teramo is easily accessible from the motorway A24, also known as "Autostrada dei Parchi", that links to Rome in less than two hours, and the motorway A14 connecting the cities of Ancona and Pescara.